My Spicy Kitchen

Collection of my Recipes…

Lemon Yogurt Cake January 24, 2010

Filed under: Baking,Desserts,Eggs,Event Entries — usha @ 9:22 am
Tags: ,

This is Ina Garten’s cake.  I saw it couple of days ago on food network and wanted to try it. The reason I liked the recipe is that it doesn’t call for butter and uses only vegetable oil. I know oil is fat too but I rather use oil to butter! I have not come across a cake of Ina or Paula Dean that is not load with loads and tons of fat. Since this recipe has no butter, I wanted to try it and baked it  yesterday. I thought the cake was ok but U & his cousin liked it. If U likes it then it is not as bad as it tasted to me…

Source: Ina Garten of Food Network
Total Time: 1 hour 10 minutes
Preparation: 5-10 minutes
Baking Time: 1 hour
Yields: 1 loaf

Print Recipe

Ingredients:
  • 1 1/2 cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp kosher Salt
  • 1 cup Plain whole-milk Non Fat Yogurt
  • 1 1/3 cups Sugar, divided into 1 cup and 1/3 cup
  • 3 extra-large Eggs
  • 2 Lemons grated Zest or 2 teaspoons grated Lemon Zest
  • 1/2 tsp Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 cup Vegetable Oil
  • 1/3 cup freshly squeezed Lemon Juice
For the glaze:
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 tbsps freshly squeezed Lemon Juice
Preparation:
  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease an 8 1/2 by 4 1/4 by 2 1/2-inch loaf pan. Grease and flour the pan.
  • Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt into 1 bowl.
  • In another bowl, whisk together the yogurt, 1 cup sugar, the eggs, lemon zest, and vanilla. In the show Ina used a whisk to mix the ingredients.  I used my  electric hand beater and the mixing process is so easy with it.
  • Slowly whisk the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. Fold the vegetable oil into the batter, making sure it’s all incorporated.
  • Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for about 1 hour.  The recipe said 50 minutes but it took longer for me.  Check if the cake is done after 50 minutes as the oven temperatures vary from oven to oven.  To check a cake, insert a fork or a tooth pick in the center of the loaf and it should come out clean.
  • Meanwhile, cook the 1/3 cup lemon juice and remaining 1/3 cup sugar in a small pan until the sugar dissolves and the mixture is clear. Set aside.
  • When the cake is done, allow it to cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Carefully place on a baking rack over a sheet pan. While the cake is still warm, pour some of the lemon-sugar mixture over the cake.  Then put the cake bake in the loaf tin and poured the remaining lemon-sugar mixture over it and allow it to soak in. Cool.
  • Cake Soaking in Lemon Sugar Mixture

  • I did not use the glaze but if interested, combine the confectioners’ sugar and lemon juice and pour over the cake.

This Barefoot Contessa, Ina Garten’s Lemon Yogurt Cake is making its entry to Cakes and Cookies event at Sara’s Corner and to Think Spice: Think Vanilla.  Think Spice Think is a monthly event started by Sunita.

 

6 Responses to “Lemon Yogurt Cake”

  1. Honestly I’m a little lost with prefering oil over butter. Fat is what it is and for something like this butter has so much more flavor. I love the recipe but I’d definitely use butter!

    As you said, butter does give much more flavor. May be I should try it with butter the next time 🙂 However, this recipe calls for oil though.

  2. notyet100 Says:

    yummy entry,,,;-)

  3. Saraswathi Says:

    Hi Nice and yummy cake. Thanks for participating in the event.

  4. bergamot Says:

    I love lemon cake and substituting the milk with yoghurt is a fab idea. The pics look tempting…

  5. Malar Gandhi Says:

    Lemon cake yumm’, I like the lemony touch in the baking goodies:)

  6. […] autographed book cook!  I watch her shows on food network, I tried at least couple of her recipes, lemon yogurt  cake and Tuscan Lemon Chicken which I mentioned here. I would have loved to have a signed cookbook and […]


Leave a comment